+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Was anyone able to install diaspora?

  1. #1

    Was anyone able to install diaspora?


    Login and make this sponsor ad go away
    Register for a free account
    I am confused about what happened today with diaspora. Did they release something that we can install and start using or did they release something that they want everyone to be able touch up as part of the "open source" thing? I am pretty disappointed with the release today, I guess I was expecting an easy install. I even bought some space on shared server as I prepared for today. luckily it only costs a couple of bucks a month.


    Did anyone install it? an you provide some feedback on how it works, if it is worth looking into and anything else you want to divulge about it. Thanks.

  2. Sponsors Sponsors help keep this site free for you to use.
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    9
    Instructions are at https://github.com/diaspora/diaspora

    I got as far as "Run the app server" when I ran into "Could not find rake-0.8.7 in any of the sources".

    update:
    had to install rake separately. still having the problem.

    Another update:
    Where the instructions say 'bundle install', use 'sudo bundle install'

    update:
    not sure about above. Now mongodb starts, yet isn't running an instant later.
    --
    I had mongodb installed from before from default ubuntu sources, apparently a broken install.

    confusion running the client, trying the test suite.
    ...
    tests passed.

    figured out login, https://localhost:3000/login
    looks like I have a working install.
    Last edited by peterh; 09-16-2010 at 01:58 PM.

  4. #3
    Congrats. That's at least 2 successful here on the forum now.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    80
    Originally Posted by peterh
    figured out login, https://localhost:3000/login
    looks like I have a working install.
    That is great. Congrats.
    DiasporaForum.org on: Facebook | Twitter | https://webchat.freenode.net ###Diaspora

  6. #5
    Just to note that rake is a gem and after you have rubygems installed you can run
    sudo gem install rake
    This should also work with bundler.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    I finally got mine to work! Im running it on my own computer instead of website. Could that be why my username is [email protected]? And I also get an error when I try to request a friend.

  8. #7
    Edit: I was going to ask you to post the solution to your previous issue but I see you posted to the other thread.
    Last edited by jonny colfax; 09-17-2010 at 01:16 PM.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Originally Posted by jonny colfax
    @jhc8, do you mind telling us what action got you past your previous install issue? Might help others who get stuck with the same errors.

    If we post errors, we should do our best to post the solutions when we get past them.
    Sorry I was going to post but I got a little side tracked. Anyways while in the diaspora directory
    Code:
    cd diaspora
    I simply typed
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ruby1.8-dev ruby1.8 ri1.8 rdoc1.8 irb1.8
    after that I entered
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libxlt-dev libxml12-dev
    then I entered
    Code:
    sudo gem install nokogiri
    sudo gem install pubsubhubbub
    sudo gem install rest-client
    sudo gem intall redgreen
    then I enterted
    Code:
    sudo bundle install
    after that I entered
    Code:
    sudo bundle exec thin start
    and was able to access Diaspora via https://localhost:3000/login although I have yet to still get
    Code:
    rake db:seed:tom
    to work. If anyone has gotten past that part please update us on what you did.

  10. #9
    Yes, I got past the server start once then failed on the rake, each time with an error saying certain files weren't checked out and asking me to bundle install again. Then as I was trying to fix the rake issue, the server start broke again.

    I have some ideas what it might be. Thanks for posting your progress. I had to stop for work. Hope to have mine up soon though.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Youre welcome and I got rake to work by using
    Code:
    sudo rake db:seed:tom

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts